Home Sports news Pakistan vs India ICC T20 World Cup 2012 warm-up match

India vs Pakistan ICC T20 World Cup 2012 warm up match may not be very important given the fact that it is just a practice match and will not affect the standing of the two South Asian teams in the tournament, but both teams would go to any extent to win it. The two are sworn enemies not just off the field, but on cricket pitches too and their face-off is never without a fair share of controversies.

Given the fact that cricketing ties between India and Pakistan stand frozen except a few matches here and there, every match becomes important for both the teams. The tension is not just within the cricket stadium where match is played, but throughout the Subcontinent. A win is always given more importance and weigh than a win against any other nation even against the best team in the world, and a loss is always brings some punitive measures against the players.

Given the pressure, every player from both the teams wishes to come up with his best ever performance and at times the matches are brilliant show of cricketing skills of both the teams.

To be true, there is not much advertisement campaign at least in India about the T20 World Cup tournament, but thanks to today’s warm up match, this will compensate for lack of any advertising. The match will be keenly watches by cricket fans across the two countries where the biggest cricket following population lives.

Right now Indian team seems to be in great shape and after its exceptional show against New Zealand and previously against Sri Lanka on Lankan surface, the team is well prepared to take on its arch rivals. Pakistani team that failed to do well against Australia in just concluded series in United Arab Emirates, was able to bag the T20 series against the Aussies. So for this small version of cricket they too seem fully prepared.

From Pakistani side Shahid Afridi and Saeed Ajmal will be keenly watched as the two are the most gifted players of the Pak team, while from Indian side Virat Kohli and Irfan Pathan will be under lenses.

Team India
R Ashwin, L Balaji, PP Chawla, MS Dhoni*†, AB Dinda, G Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Z Khan, V Kohli, IK Pathan, SK Raina, V Sehwag, RG Sharma, MK Tiwary, Yuvraj Singh

Pakistan team
Abdul Razzaq, Asad Shafiq, Imran Nazir, Kamran Akmal†, Mohammad Hafeez*, Mohammad Sami, Nasir Jamshed, Raza Hasan, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat



Leave a Reply